Christian Coalition Supporters Are Urged to Defend the Defense of Marriage Act

Last week, the Senate Judiciary Committee passed the so-called, Orwellian-named “Respect for Marriage Act”, S.598, out of committee by a party-line, 10-8 margin.

This bill would abolish the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) and would force the recognition of gay marriages throughout America in all 50 states.

The Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) was overwhelmingly passed in 1996, by a whopping margin of 85-14 in the United States Senate and by an equally overwhelming margin in the United States House of Representatives by a margin of 342-67.

All Republicans on the Senate Judiciary Committee voted to defend the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) by voting NO on the so-called "Respect for Marriage Act of 2011" last week.  On the other hand, All 10 Democrat Senators on the Senate Judiciary Committee voted for the so-called "Respect for Marriage Act of 2011" which will eliminate DOMA.

In not one single state have citizens voted in favor of instituting homosexual "marriage".  Indeed in 31 out of 31 states, voters have voted to uphold traditional marriage between one man and one woman.  In the 6 states and the District of Columbia which allow homosexual "marriages" - Massachusetts, Iowa, New York, Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire - the citizens have not been allowed to vote to ban such abominations which would surely occur if the state legislators "allowed" a referendum vote on the state ballots.

Indeed, judges or renegade state legislators have forced homosexual "marriages" upon the citizens of each of those states.  Congress needs to ban homosexual "marriage" in the District of Columbia.

Three of the Iowa Supreme Court justices who voted with the majority for homosexual "marriages" where thrown out of office by the voters.  More states will vote next year to abolish such "marriages."

The members of the Democrat-controlled Senate Judiciary Committee who voted for the so-called "Respect for Marriage Act of 2011", which will eliminate the Defense of Marriage Act of 1996 (DOMA) are:  Chairman Patrick Leahy (Vermont); Herb Kohl (Wisconsin); Dianne Feinstein (California); Chuck Shumer (New York); Dick Durbin (Illinois); Sheldon Whitehouse (Rhode Island); Amy Klobuchar (Minnesota); Al Franken (Minnesota), Christopher Coons (Delaware) and Richard Blumenthal (Connecticut).

Please contact your two United States Senators immediately and tell them to vote “NO” on the so-called “Respect for Marriage Act” by clicking here.